What’s In A Day?

(Edited from post written  in Sept. 2009)

I was talking to someone about owning more of their day – owning their life, owning their feelings, and how they live it all out.   I want to own more of mine as well.   Sometimes where I used to work, the days rushed by so quickly, fueled by the demands of clients or an upset supervisor.   I don’t really like getting caught up in the fast flow and have that “push me around” so to speak.   Wherever I am, work or Wal-Mart, I don’t want to be that affected by the atmosphere.   It can make me feel like I have “lost” my day and then I don’t think or process as well.   On days like these, it seems that work and sleep keep running into each other and that only multiplies weariness.   I want to operate from a place of peace and have a life of quality.   I want to feel like I have lived in each day, not just rushed through it or been affected by it.

I want to see myself as a separate entity, a separate person from those around me – especially when things are upsetting.   The emotions of others don’t have to become mine or become attached to me to where I feel I have to do something about them.   I actually need to respect others as having their own life and the capability to handle their own problems.   But do I help?   Sometimes, if asked, I am glad to help, but I am also learning more that after I listen to someone, that their feelings are theirs and any decision is theirs to make, not mine.   If they ask for advice, I can give it, but it’s only advice.   They get to choose for their own life.

So I am working on not being tossed about by circumstances.   The Bible says that there are those who are “tossed about by every wind of doctrine” and there are those who are “double minded”.   While this is talking about what we really believe and being grounded in that, our own instability contributes to a lack of peace.

Psalm 131 is like a sponge that absorbs the tension and conflict and emotion of the day:

“Lord, my heart is not proud;

My eyes are not haughty.

I don’t concern myself with matters too great

Or awesome for me.

But I have stilled and quieted myself,

Just as a small child is quiet with It’s mother.

Yes, like a small child is my soul (mind, will, emotions) within me.

O Israel, put your hope in the Lord –

Now and always.”

I ask God, who loves me, to help me with my day.   His help is different from the help of others for He fully knows my heart.   Every time I look to Him, He gives me His peace no matter what is going on around me.   Turning my focus to Him settles and establishes my soul and I am at rest.   I am able to live with purpose, depending on God’s wisdom and direction.   Thank you, Father God.

Ephesians 5-

15Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise (sensible, intelligent people),

16Making the very most of the time [buying up each opportunity], because the days are evil.

17Therefore do not be vague and thoughtless and foolish, but understanding and firmly grasping what the will of the Lord is.

Author’s note: As we approach a new year with all it will contain, we are wise to ask the Lord to reveal not just His will for us for fresh strategy, but to give us wisdom and instruction for He promises that to us in His word.  John 16:13 says…

“However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.”

May you prosper in this new year of 2010 “as your soul prospers” in the Lord.  Happy (blessed, content, and peaceful) New Year!

Leave a Comment

