How could I forget you?

The Bourne Identity is one of my favorite movies.  I love the suspenseful plot of this spy story.  In the movie, Jason Bourne, played by Matt Damon, has been shot, thrown overboard into the sea, and picked up by fisherman who help him regain his health and strength.  One problem remains: he can’t remember his name.  He finds a clue that leads him to a Swiss bank where he discovers an address.  He meets a woman, Marie, who agrees to drive him overnight to Paris for the next piece of the puzzle.  When they arrive, she says, “You’ll probably forget about me.” Jason replies, “How could I forget you?  You’re the only person I know.”

This scene flashed before my eyes while I was hiking last week.  I have been in a place with God where I have to trust Him with more than ever before.  I have been unemployed for about 2 1/2 months and it seems the Lord is leading me through an unusual place in my pilgrimage.  He is developing a deeper level of trust in me and I know that if never challenged, my faith and trust would stay at the current level.  That’s human nature.  As I walk through this difficult time with God and keep choosing to put my focus on what the Bible says, my relationship with Him deepens.  Faith is born of that relationship, for as I come to know Him at a deeper level, I find I more easily believe that He is who He says He is and can do what He says He can do.

When I saw the movie scene, the Lord spoke into my spirit that His eyes are so intently focused on my life that it’s like I am the only person He knows.  As human beings, we sometimes forget that God is outside of time and it seems that His attention must be split between me and the other 6 billion people in the world.  But thankfully that’s not the case!  His eyes are always on me, and with an intensity that is like I am the only person He knows.  Every person is so valuable to God that His gaze never drops from anyone.  And He is not just watching — He is actively involved.  He wants you to more fully know His love, more fully experience Him, and more fully enjoy your life.

In Isaiah 49:15 the Lord says, “Can a woman forget her nursing child and have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, but I will not forget you.”

He knows that we are human and knows that we will all fail or even forget Him, but He promises to never forget about us.  Today, that is a comfort to my heart.  His Word brings clarity to my mind and I am more assured of being able to trust God with the details of where I am now.  This time is so I can learn to stand on a higher place and see Him do something magnificent in my life.  How do I know that?  With every difficult circumstance of my life, God has been there for me, speaking His comfort to my heart and working out the details.  I have come to know Him better with each trial and each joy.  As I have come to know Him, I have realized a little more of my worth and value in His eyes.  And similar to Jason Bourne’s pursuit of truth, I have come to know more of who He made me to be.

I like the way Jason Bourne pursued the truth until it was his.

The God of the Bible is my Father and there is no turning back.

(c) Feb. 2010, Robin Lawrimore

4 thoughts on “How could I forget you?

  1. pttyann

    Wonderful Post Robin I enjoyed it very much,especially the part where you said God see’s you in spite of all the people here,he really see’s you.How sweet and true that is and I am also grateful! Have a wonderful evening Robin 🙂

    Like

  2. Marilyn Reihs

    Hi Robin,
    I’m the “Marilyn” from Writerific. Your blog is fantastic. I feel as though God has really directed me to you. Due to a serious illness in addition to a chronic one, I am not out and about much. You are really helping to fulfill my spiritual needs. I am so happy to be able to be in touch with you. Your writing is a real blessing. I will share this particular piece with a man suffering for one year since the death of his wife. He does feel forgotten so please know that your message will encourage many others.
    Thanks and please continue to follow His lead.
    Marilyn

    Like

Leave a Comment

