Waiting on God

There have been many times I waited on God.  If I kept an open heart, He did not disappoint.  The problem were the times that what I had in mind prolonged my waiting time as God was waiting on me to submit to Him my desires and draw closer.

I’ve been reading an Andrew Murray book entitled “The Believers Secret of Waiting on God” and my heart resonates with each chapter.  My reading in it today was chapter 13, “For More Than We Know”.

“And now, Lord, what do I wait for? For my hope is in these.”  (Psalm 39:7)

Murray writes that there may be times we simply don’t know what we are waiting for.  There may be other times we think we know, and suggests it would be a good thing for us to realize that we do not always know what to ask, for we don’t always know what we need.  God is able to do immeasurably more than all we can ask for imagine (Ephesians 3:20), and so we may be limiting Him when we confine our prayers and hopes to our own thoughts.

The Word is clear, and if you have enjoyed a relationship with God you probably know, that His thoughts and ways are infinitely higher than ours.  So far above are they that we cannot even grasp them or understand them at all.  He is God.

It’s a dangerous thing, but a learning experience to find we have put God into a box with what our soul wants when that is different from what He desires for us.  He only wants what is best for us and has unlimited knowledge about our past, present, and future, therefore only He can work things out in the best way.  And so we learn to wait.

I think the problem can be in what we have experienced with God up to now.  It’s easy to base our expectation on what we have already seen God do in our lives before, but He is never limited in power by our experience with Him.  Murray writes,

Let us believe that God’s fulfillment of His promises, in a power and an abundance of grace, beyond our farthest imagination.  And then let us develop the habit of waiting on God, not only for what we think we need, but for all His grace and power are ready to do for us.”

I don’t want to depend on what my simple heart can desire and how I think God might meet that, or even worse, how I could make it happen.  I want to seek after all that God’s infinite heart wants for me and those I pray for.  I want the sky to be the limit.  I must confess before God how little I really understand and ask with the Psalmist, “And now, Lord, what do I wait for?” He is the God who does wonders!  I want to see His wonders in my life and the lives of those around me.  I want daily life to be one of asking to know what is on God’s heart, waiting, walking with Him, waiting some more, moving as He directs, and seeing the supernatural take place – which is more than I could have ever prayed for in my strength.

And if you ask Him what to pray for, He will tell you.  While you wait, see yourself drawing close, even sitting next to Him to know what is on His heart.  He is a loving Father, the perfect Father – and He wants to reveal His heart to you.  But like a friend who tells you secrets, He waits for you to draw near.  James tells us how to come.

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.  Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.  Be miserable, mourn and weep.  Humble yourselves in the presence of God and He will exalt you.”  (NASB)

“Say a quiet yes to God and he’ll be there in no time. Quit dabbling in sin. Purify your inner life. Quit playing the field. Hit bottom, and cry your eyes out. The fun and games are over. Get serious, really serious. Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet.”  (The Message Bible)

Sometimes I’ve complained about waiting, feeling like I’ve waited all my life.  But I have learned that waiting is so very valuable.  Challenging, yes, but worth every tear and ounce of energy you spend and every single thing you have to give up.  We have a Father who cannot disappoint, who can do nothing except what is good and loving for you.  Be of good courage.  Draw near.  Learn to wait.  He is teaching you to leave everything to Him.

(c) Robin Lawrimore, 2010 – all rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on God

  1. Vivecia Coomer

    I Feel like I’m always starting over with God. I loved your writing but I Don’t know how to get where I want to Go or even where I want to go–I’;m so sick of the words destiny when I’m just struggling with survival I just turned 62 and feel like all i’ve ever done is “wait on God”. When do I get to live?

    Like

  2. Robin

    Sometimes all we can do is to hang onto Him, refusing to let go. Sometimes we just have to cry out and cry out, submitting ourselves to Him, going to the Word every day. He has promised… there is life in Jesus… and like Peter, “Lord, where else would we go? Only You have the words of eternal life.”

    Sometimes we’ve gotten ourselves in so deep, it takes a while to get out. God is gentle and helps us along in our understanding for He wants us to be free and experience His love. Refuse to give up, my friend. He knows you and is working on your behalf!

    Like

Leave a Comment

