The Forest Walk


I head for the forest
My staff in my hand
And I run and I run
As fast as I can
 

I run and I run
Until I know
And feel the Lord’s peace
Start to enter my soul

I walk hard over paths
That are leaf strewn and worn
By the passage of others
Who’ve been there before

I move across earth
As my feet touch the ground
And with every step
What felt lost becomes found

I empty my soul
Of concerns and of fears
And sometimes sow
The path with my tears

I pour it all out
With a pounding of feet
In the presence of One
Who I came to meet

He’s ready to listen
And offer His grace
Like a friend over tea
We talk face to face

We talk and we talk
Until I’m restored
And ever so gently
He corrects my course

I emerge from the forest
My staff in my hand
Restored once again
As the daughter I am

One thought on “The Forest Walk

Leave a Comment

