Light Giver

I drove around Charleston when the sun was low in the sky, attempting to capture digitally what my eye was awed by.  Light always fills every space possible, and early evening is my favorite time of day.

I love what light does to color and to silhouettes and to church steeples when flooding in at an angle.  Suddenly pinks are illuminated, statues have life, and water speaks. Light runs down alleys like a child playing, and warms the arms of walkers like a shawl.

I wonder if God has a favorite time of day.  If He does, I think it could be the dawn when light is invading the darkness.  Or maybe it’s the darkest night when stars shine brightest, singing across the sky, unhindered by street lights in the city, and clinging to the feet of the Creator as He walks.

Can you imagine with me being there when “God said, ‘And let there be light’ and there was light”?  (Genesis 1:3)  He spoke into existence what makes my eyes sing, His presence entering through the bolted double doors of darkness that covered the deep.  He invaded the space over the earth, hovering, bringing all His glory with Him, and spoke into reality what makes everything shine with love. – Light.

“And in Him was life, and that life was the light of men.  And that Light shines on in the darkness, for the darkness has never overpowered it.”  (John 1:4-5)  The light that shines in my life is an eternal flame that cannot be put out.  I did not put it there myself, but was invited to receive it, and upon its installation, was made new.  Newer than new!  His life in me lights the way I take.

And “His tender compassions fail not; they are new every morning”, like He just spoke them… directly to me.  (Lamentations 3:22-23)

And “Truly the light is sweet, and a pleasant thing it is for the eyes to behold the sun.”  (Ecclesiastes 11:7)

His light that I see with my eyes, and the light that I feel with my heart are both a tender gift from the Lord, and what He gives, He never retracts to those whose hearts are moved by Him.  This one is a heart fully swayed by His presence, fully in awe of His love, and one that is fully accepted, and not for anything that I have done.  This light cannot be put out.  For the longer I hold it, the brighter is shines, and the greater the light that is shed around me, the more the darkness retreats.

This God, this light-creator, brings a continual resurrection with Him, raising the dead in all who want the love He offers.  And I am thankful.

(c) Robin Lawrimore, 2011

3 thoughts on “Light Giver

  1. MG

    As an artist I love the interplay of light and color. It’s what inspires me to pick up my palette and brushes. God is the Light Giver and when I look at a scene with God light on it— seeing how it transforms ordinary objects into extraordinary— I realize it’s the LIGHT that makes all the difference. I find this true in my life with God too…it’s the LIGHT that makes all the difference in how I look at my circumstances, how I see the people around me, and how my gratitude metre registers higher when I look with God’s light shining on everything.

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      I once turned a corner driving and saw a rainbow with such vivid color, I was as stunned as if I seen something not of earth. It had the hand of God upon it, the presence of Heaven. It was as if He’d lifted me to some garden outside the throne room – a gift just for me – and I pulled over and wept. Everything on earth in that moment shone like gold leaf had been applied with some giant brush. I’ll never forget it – a gift just for me.

      Every time I think of that rainbow, all earthly concerns and situations move rapidly to the background. God taking preeminence over all, and I am secure. Like you said, “God’s light shining on everything.”

      Like

  2. MG

    I too have had moments like you described and they are truly unforgettable. I just love how Father brings me to the window to view a spectacular sunrise at just the right moment…a few minutes later the light has changed. But he didn’t let me miss his gift to me. Thanks for all your good posts, words and photos. I find them inspiring and encouraging.

    Like

Leave a Comment

