Mind Set

Scripture says that “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  (Matthew 6:21)

Treasure in this verse is “the place in which good and precious things are collected and laid up.”

These are the things we are proud of or feel significance in.  They may be money or belongings or a big house or a great wardrobe.  They are the things we want others to notice.  These places of focus can also be problems, sickness, or financial thin places.  Problems, instead of riches, can become the place where we fix our eyes.

Where our focus is, there our worship will be also. Many years ago when I attended Al-Anon’s 12 step meetings (which turned out to be more about me than I expected), a new friend there asked, “What do you think about the most?  That’s your higher power.”  I was convicted for I knew I was spending more time thinking about my problem than Jesus and His power to heal.  It helped to hear that word of correction.  In a moment’s time, it brought me right before the throne of God.

The Greek word for treasure comes from another word which means “to fix or establish for oneself.”  It also means “to bend down.”  That sounds like a worship position to me.  Instead of bending down to what cries for our focus, what if we stopped the noise in our souls long enough to bend down before the Father?

I am incredibly thankful that He has brought an amount of change in me, but I still struggle some days with where I allow my focus to wander.  I have to corral the thoughts, take them captive, and ask the Lord’s help to clear my head with a fresh Spirit wind to get my focus back on Him.  I think of the children of Israel, fresh out of Egyptian chains and still rubbing their wrists, bending to gather the manna that fell like dew every morning.  I am no different and as I move from slave-ship to son-ship under the tutelage of the Shepherd King, my mind-set gets an adjustment as I bend to gather up what He has for me.

Where is your focus today?  Worship isn’t just what happens when music is playing in the sanctuary.  Worship is lifestyle.  Whatever we dwell upon, whatever we give our thought time to becomes the object of our worship.  Common sense and worldly wisdom won’t get us everywhere we need to go.  We need God’s wisdom and fresh revelation for our lives.  We need to think differently.

For those who are according to the flesh, set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.  The mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace.  (Romans 8:5-6)

Here the word death can be literal death, but is also and most likely “the misery of the soul arising from sin.”  Be encouraged to decide today that no matter what comes your way, you will look to God in the midst of it for there life and peace is found.  In the King, life and peace flow like a river!

Father, we seek You.  We seek Your face amidst all the concerns and care of the world that want our focus and worship.  Help us as we turn again to You repeatedly, and do that amazing renewing work You are famous for in our minds.  We desire that Jesus be Lord of our minds as well as the rest of life.  In the Name of King Jesus, Amen.

(c) October 2011, Robin Lawrimore

3 thoughts on “Mind Set

  1. Rosa

    Yes.worship is a lifestyle! I was whining to a friend about the place I am currently at in life..service to the wealthy. I said I would much rather serve in Africa, there, I know what to do, the needs are so obvious. Here, I have to cater to WANTS, and I am stretched so far beyond what I know, or feel able to do .My friend reminded me, its not about me, or even those I am serving,its all about worship to the King,and by the way…a RICH King! So…change of focus, Rosa! It changed the way I feel about the challlenges I face.He must be getting me ready for something,cause this sure is out of my comfort zone!

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      Bravo, Rosa! I know what you mean. Some situations between the “haves” and “have-nots” creates a little caste system, a little kingdom. But every nation, even the one you’re working in, will bow the knee. So we take the lesser seat and watch God work.

      Like

Leave a Comment

