Light Bringer

We live in a world that is spiritually bankrupt and hostile to God.  John the Apostle warns, “Do not love the world or the things in this world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”  (1 John 2:15)

~Greg Laurie

When I read this quote, my first thought was one of negativity.  His, not mine. I remember as a child sitting multiple times a week with feet that didn’t reach the carpet listening to Southern Baptist preachers talk about the horrible condition of the planet and the promise of Jesus’ return.  Then we’d stand and sing “When We All Get to Heaven” and I still know all the verses.  Hymns like this gave hope to those who could only see what was going wrong.  Even as a child, I thought “If God is that big, why can’t He fix it?”

It is the assignment for disciples of Christ to bring LIFE and LIGHT into the darkness.  We aren’t to just sit around waiting for Jesus to return while we pass out tracts.  That is the Gospel of Salvation.  We preach the Gospel of a Kingdom.

We know the reality of the world around us, but do we know the design of the Body of Christ to bring change?  If the Church is open to the Spirit of God and move forward as He leads, then anything can be accomplished.

For with God nothing is ever impossible and no word from God shall be without power or impossible of fulfillment.  (Luke 1:37 Amplified Bible)

This verse was spoken by the angel Gabriel to Mary in the first chapter of Luke, words that became the anchor for her faith enabling her to accept the invitation God had sent.

Mary’s response?

Then Mary said, Behold, I am the handmaiden of the Lord; let it be done to me according to what you have said. And the angel left her.  (Luke 1:38)

The literal translation of her response is May the Word of the Lord be created in me.  Carrying the Word that would become flesh, she submitted and brought the most amazing Light into the darkened world.

Mary was the first to house the Christ.  Now His dwelling place is within us through the Spirit.  He is the solution.  But are we speaking as if we know this Christ?  Do we live like we believe God has a solution, a plan? Who are the solution carriers?

Jesus came and taught the Kingdom plan and handed it off to 12 who handed it off to hundreds more, then thousands and the Church has survived.  But like that watercolor my desk wears, She didn’t just survive – she became, what are we becoming?  Are we life-givers, light bringers?

We are the remnant and can say we are no different from those who have gone before.  If He lives in you, the call is the same.  So let’s turn over the apple carts, let’s turn over the money changer’s tables, let’s turn over everything that is not of His foundation and be bold!  Let’s listen to the Spirit’s call and receive His heart and live it.  This is a year of moving forward.  We are what was set in motion in the Garden.  This is life.  We don’t just wait for Jesus to return, hoping to survive.  We don’t keep quiet hoping to not offend.  We live, move, and have our being woven in with His life.

I can’t do it.  I can’t do it in my strength at all.  It won’t always work, I won’t always win, but if He is the treasure that I seek, if He is my priority, if He has won my heart with His love, then I can’t help but take and share His Kingdom all around and then watch as He tells me how to pray over family, over community, how to cleanse and bless and declare this Kingdom.  His love makes the world around me a little less bankrupt and hostile.

And can we say this together?

May the Word of the Lord be created in me to a place of overflowing abundance, so that rivers of living water flow from me into where I live, work, play, into relationships, into prayer… Holy Spirit, do your special hovering work over me so that the world around me, my place of influence, bears the evidence that You are here.  Come with Light and Life!  Come with transformation!  Come, Lord Jesus… for here, for now.

(c) Robin Lawrimore, March 2012

4 thoughts on “Light Bringer

  1. propheticquilts

    Yes Robin, grew up with all that..
    “when we all see Jesus we’ll sing and shout the victory” – not in that day but NOW. We stand in church and sing “open the eyes of my heart” but fail to use that atrophied sight. How can we walk as Jesus did, only doing what He saw the Father do, if we refuse to look and keep on looking.

    Like

  2. wendy

    thanks Robin, just the encouragement i needed. In my place of influence there is a lot of pain at present, and i dont know how to really ease it and i cant take it away. Sometimes my powerlessness causes me pain. I know thé ánswer’is having kingdom vision. I so want to be life-giving and light bearing. I love the prayer and will carry it within me.

    Like

Leave a Comment

