Ladies and Gentlemen of Spring

These are the ladies and gentlemen of Spring who visited my feeder today.  I asked them to tell me what they knew of God, but they ate what they wanted and flew away.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In their lives, they told me of God, of a Father who knows how to give good gifts.  A Father who provides all.  A Father who designs in abundance.  A Father who loves His creation and instills in it the desire to be what it was created to be.

And I remember words…

The bluebird carries the sky on his back.  ~Henry David Thoreau

When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.  ~Leonardo Da Vinci

These birds that grace my feeder do indeed speak with wings and feathers of intricate design, with beaks just so golden and sharp, with dances choreographed by One who watches and takes joy in their hops and flights to limbs so high.

I am glad to invite them with seed and I am part of creation who pleases Him when I leap and dance and speak and love in ways He designed for me.  And I am His glad bird learning to soar and attempting heights and reaching to find myself safe in His hand.

Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?  (Matt. 6:26)

(c) Robin Lawrimore, April 2012

Leave a Comment

