“Join”

 

I enjoy the writing prompts from The Gypsy Mama blog and am participating today in 5 Minute Friday!  Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  (Seriously?!)
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.  (That means you!)
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on:::

Join…

“Come join us,” they said, and we did and our lives were never the same.  Another time, another place and there it was again, “Come join  us.”  With every relationship, every party invitation, every ministry job, every church, every proposal for who knows what….there is the invitation to “come join us” and be a part of what is going on here.

Some of these invitations were accepted.  I don’t usually remember the ones I dismissed or declined, but the ones I accepted, I remember.  Especially the ones I have regretted.

Sometimes you want to be part of a team and feel included.  Sometimes you want to feel protected and you join.  Sometimes you want to be the one asking the question, “would you like to join me in _______?”

Jesus invited people to join Him.  He invites me every day to look for what He has going on that I might miss otherwise, and join Him there.  Every time, every opportunity given that has been extended by Him is a way forward that teaches me and allows Him to pour through me into the lives of others.  The adventure I was created to join.

Would you like to join me here and here?  I love new company.

A Sojourner's Voice

(c) Robin Lawrimore, August 2012

 

6 thoughts on ““Join”

  1. Tammy Perlmutter

    ” Every time, every opportunity given that has been extended by Him is a way forward that teaches me and allows Him to pour through me into the lives of others. The adventure I was created to join.” This is really good. I’ll join you!

    Like

  2. Sisterlisa

    I love that you added that Jesus invites people.. and yet sometimes people decline his invitation (like the rich man), nevertheless he allows them to depart peacefully. It’s ok if people say no.. that was a hard lesson for me to learn. But as I grew in the Lord and became more secure in his love for me then I got to the place where it was ok with me if people said no. I love the word ‘join’..it means ‘include’, you’re included! We all are and that’s the welcoming hospitality of God. Revelation 22:17 is one of my favorite passages.

    “The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price.”

    Glad to ‘meet’ you. Hope to get to know you better. Now I’m gonna go read your category Kingdom Life. 🙂

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      Nice to meet you, Lisa! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll check out your blog, too. Love the blogging community and how we touch each others lives, and you quoted one of my favorite verses of scripture. Blessings.

      Like

  3. Wendy

    Oh I definitely want to join in on this adventure! I loved that you included the invitations that you declined because aren’t they part of shaping us as well. Knowing what we have said no to as well as those that we have said yes to? Loved this! Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Comment

