A Letter to Fear:

There are times you loom large, but know this…

You will not stop me.

There are times you shout into my ears, but know this…

I will not listen long.

You try to convince me that I am alone in my challenge, but know this…

The Lord is with me wherever I go and has promised to never leave me.

You love to chatter on so about all the negative possibilities, the “what ifs” and attempt to take control of my thoughts, but know this….

I have the mind of Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit and I can, with His help, silence your voice by praise and thanksgiving to God.  He helps me grab every thought and bring it into the light of God’s Truth.  He helps me stop the chatter as I focus on His words instead of yours.

You attempt to block the very path He has laid out for me, but I have found as I run forward anyway while trusting in my Father, what looked like a stone wall is stepped over.  Instead of fear growing in size with my approach, fear shrinks.  And God becomes bigger to me.  And He gets the glory.

You attempt to fence me in, but know this…

You (God) light a lamp for me.
The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness.
In your strength I can crush an army;
with my God I can scale any wall.  ~Psalm 18:28-29

You attempt to gain my focus, steer the direction of my eyes, but know this…

When my eyes are on Jesus Christ, I can walk on water… For He is my Strong Tower, His mercy sets me free to soar, and is my strength when I feel weak.

He says, “C’mon, child!  Adventure awaits!”

Fear can never stand up to the Love of God – for as I learn to trust that His love is perfect towards me, then fear must even bow its knee to the truth of God’s love.

So let’s scale the wall, climb over the fence, and get moving!  The voices of fear fall away as we leave them behind and hear more clearly the voice of the Chief Shepherd who beckons us on.

Question: As you face your fence of fear, what do you see written there?  What crafty lie has the enemy scrawled there to keep you where you are?

(c) Robin Lawrimore, August 2012

9 thoughts on “A Letter to Fear:

  1. Robin Lawrimore

    This Post is dedicated to my sister, Barbara, who is one of the bravest people I know. She faces fearful circumstances with thanksgiving, claiming scripture, and believing God. Then she goes ahead and runs at Goliath, knowing that God will see her through anything in her path. She is an inspiration to me!

    Like

  2. CHRISTINE LEWIS

    A wonderful wonderful post Robin… ‘ We have not received a spirit of bondage again to fear, but we have received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out ‘Abba Father” bless u woman of God XxX

    Like

  3. Pee Dee Foodie

    With the week that I have had, this post seems like it was written just to encourage me. I know that I am not alone, whatever the future may bring, and that God is my Strong Tower. Thank you for writing this Letter to Fear. Fear is no match for my Lord.

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      He is that Strong Tower! And you are inside it with your focus on Him. He will see you through your storm and bring you out on the other side with more faith and strength than ever – able to encourage others!

      Like

  4. jane62

    Robyn, I love the bit about how when we run forward anyway, Fear must shink. It is as if what we thought of as a stone wall literally melts away in front of us. It’s that almost imperceptible heart change, choosing God, not Fear and suddenly I am free.

    Like

Leave a Comment

