Celebrating a Birth

My fourth granddaughter was born just a few weeks ago.  Naomi Marcella was celebrated and is currently being loved on by many friends and relatives.  There’s nothing like babies born around the Christmas season – a gift wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in big, strong arms that protect it.

Jesus came into our skin because He wanted to be with us and have us forever.  As vulnerable as any other newborn, He too was held in strong arms, caressed by tender hands, and honored with announcements.  Coming to know the immensity of the Father’s heart for us, I wonder if all our babies make the angels sing, too.

The best part of Christmas for me is the name Immanuel, “God with us.”

God — with — us.

Christmas MaryHe wanted us.  Just like He wanted Adam and Eve in the beginning.  He prepared a place for them to live and to know Him, to walk with Him “in the cool of the day.”

I am a scripture searcher and love Bible Gateway.  When I searched the words prepare a place, I found verses where God had prepared a place for people, where those who knew Him had prepared a place for Him, and then finally how He has prepared a place for us forever.  The most important relationship is with the God of Relationship – why we were created in the first place.  Here are some of my favorites:

“See, I am sending an angel ahead of you to guard you along the way and to bring you to the place I have prepared.”  Exodus 23:20

 

“Now David had brought up the ark of God from Kiriath Jearim to the place he had prepared for it.”  2 Chron. 1:4

 

My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”  John 14:2-4

There are so many more, but these are amazing to me.  This Love Letter we hold reading these words is God making a place, a way for us from the very beginning.  We hold a place of incredible love in His heart, so universal that we cannot even imagine it.  And yet why does it take us so long to be able to receive this love?

Each answer would be different, but the need is the same.

All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet:“The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife.”  Matthew 1:22-24

Christmas gloryFor us to have a place, Jesus needed a place, and entered the same air space, the same skin, and walked the same earth as us.  God with us.  The most indescribable, uncontainable gift ever given.  Words are not enough, but thank you, Father.  Thank you, Jesus.

May we give Him room – this King of kings, our Shepherd, our Friend.  And we join with the angels, “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”  (Luke 2:14)

(c) Robin Lawrimore, December 24, 2012

 

Leave a Comment

