Stepping into the Unknown

stone stepsThis is where the excitement begins.  This is where we begin living a good story.  This is where we can smile knowing that we don’t have to see all the way home, because He does.  A friend brought me a photograph of a flight of stone steps that lead up to a waterfall.  The caption: …every journey begins with a single step.

This is the walk – and I again find myself stepping into the unknown and I am learning to love it. This is where the smile of God finds its way through all the cloudiness of earth, past all my questions, and pierces my soul with favor and encouragement. Do you know this feeling?

I accepted a job offer last November that I thought would be a fit.  I can learn how to do about anything, but I’m such a people oriented person that without enough social contact, I wonder if the oxygen level in the room has changed.  I have loved the people, but not the job itself.  If they’d only pay me to be the corporate encourager or take prayer requests, I’d be just fine, but the job they hired me to do would, of course, go undone.  So our problem solving led to only one reasonable conclusion.  Today is my last day here.  It’s bitter-sweet.

I am so glad to have been here for this time, these last 6 months, to meet people I’d not met before, to see how God made them, gifted them, and find His fingerprints on their lives.  And my boss just started teaching Sunday School at his church and to see his excitement and be thrilled at how I know the Holy Spirit will come in and teach right through him, and lives are being changed because he said yes. 

And my other boss, who is the comic relief and occasionally walks out into the lobby and exclaims how good it is to be the best looking man in the building.  What a great listener and thoughtful person he is, too.  And to watch in this workplace as they pursue the new on a daily basis, encouraging others to excel.

And two of my co-workers and I accidentally formed a click called the Squirrel Club and today the club members took me out to lunch.  We squirreled away to La Bamba and had shrimp and yummy ingredients over rice.  I will greatly miss our club meetings and funny stories.  It is easy to be thankful for these people.  So many new friends.

But what if it had not been a good experience?  What if, like some stops before this one, it was hard or even abusive?  Could I still thank God then?  That is the question that challenges the focus of your heart.  Giving thanks for it all, following where God leads, and seeing what He does with different sets of circumstances is the life of earth.

The Lord has said to “follow His lead into places unknown and I will see Him do something mighty before my very eyes.”  On days when my faith and outlook are strong, it can feel like I’m dancing inside, like Jesus is leading me out and twirling me around.  And there are days when I don’t feel like the two-step, and when I feel like I can’t see a darn thing or feel like I’ve been at a red light far too long.  I turn my thoughts to remember verses like this one:

Let the one who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the Lord and rely on their God.  ~Isaiah 50:10

This is the adventure that makes me tremble a little (sometimes a lot), but I’m in the center of Heaven’s gaze, under those wings, inside that right arm.

It’s really the life I’ve asked for…to know Him more.

I have a friend who recently developed some serious physical issues yet says, “I am doing well and loving living every day. His plans are perfect and I accept them all with joy and thanksgiving.”  Her joy amidst uncertainty leads me into a deeper courage, a fuller way to live.  She lives a ripple-effect kind of life that washes over those in her path with blessing that challenges.

Robin 1None of us can know all that tomorrow holds on any given day.  In a sense, we step into the unknown every time we get out of bed.  So for all those humans out there reading these words, let’s say it again together…

Let the one who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the Lord and rely on their God.  ~Isaiah 50:10

He sees the way forward, promises to never leave us, and that makes the heart of this little girl glad.  So thankful.

(c) Robin Lawrimore, May 31, 2013

10 thoughts on “Stepping into the Unknown

  1. GodGirl

    What a great post, thanks for sharing. May we each have such courage, to know that in dark times or otherwise, His light will always guide us and envelop us. All the best with the next chapter of your life…

    Like

  2. Jimmy Chinnes

    Robin, your future is so bright, you’ve got to wear shades. Keep the faith, you may want to buy a lottery ticket.
    Life sometimes throws a sinker, but “Lay your burden down” and knock it out the park. When God makes a plan, he sticks to it. Keep your eyes open, your plan is around the next corner.

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      Jimmy, your encouragement gives me a big smile! Thank you, as always. I can’t to see where God plants me next. We can always grow and flourish when He is doing the planting and watering.

      Like

  3. Paula Cribb

    Its so awesome to see you grow and you are….Plant the seeds Robin.You are the sower…HE is the Vine…John15:5.I love you!

    Like

Leave a Comment

