Fall

I have four granddaughters – 8 yrs down to 6 months – and I’ve watched 3 of them learn to walk.  I have two daughters, ages 24 and 28, and I love continuing watching them learn to walk in the different seasons of their lives.

walkingWe walk, we stumble, we fall.  We learn to stand still with balance.  The same thing happens in our personal lives.  The more we walk close to God, the more stable we become, the more balance and blessing we experience in our lives.

And every season is different, every day, every event bringing trial, difficulty, strength, blessing — and we learn.  We learn to walk where we are.

For the past three years, I have been living again with my parents and I’ve watched God let me fall to let me learn to walk where I am.  And He is the best parent, filled with love and mercy and discipline, to help me grow into all He designed from the beginning.

So I can expect to fall every time I risk stepping out into places I’ve not walked before, but I can expect Him to be there to catch me, to let me learn to walk again and again.  And I am thankful for verses like this….

Now all glory to God, who is able to keep you from falling away and will bring you with great joy into his glorious presence without a single fault.  (Jude 1:24)

My heart catches almost like a sudden stop when I ponder things like this, how this amazing Creator who made me, accepts me just like I am, where I am, and helps me learn to walk over and again.  And allows me to watch those who came from my womb learn to stand on their feet, and having done all…to stand.  Thank you, Father!

(c) Robin Lawrimore, June 2013

Linking up with the Five Minute Friday here.  Have a weekend of witnessing blessings!

Five Minute Friday

 

11 thoughts on “Fall

  1. Pattyann

    I really like this one. He does accept us over and over as we struggle and fall and start again. He just loves us and blesses us and helps us on our journey home. Thanks for sharing this one today.

    Like

    • Robin Lawrimore

      Thank you, Patty Ann! It’s quite something to realize and make my own what you and I have both said. But when it becomes mine, when it sinks into my spirit, then nothing can remove it. I may get distracted, but can always return to that place. Thank you for commenting! Love, Robin

      Like

  2. Dawn

    Such wonderfully written words. I find myself smiling each time you share your “gift” with us. Your writings have touched so many lives and will continue to do so. Thank you for giving us a deeper insight into His word.

    Like

Leave a Comment

