The Light of Advent

advent candlesWith Poinsettias perched atop anything that would hold them up, the wreaths hung, evergreens extended in celebration of life on every arched window.  At my church, we are celebrating, witnessing advent.  We are lighting candles each of four Sundays before Christmas, candles of Hope, Peace, and today, Love, and pausing to recognize that Love Came Down and that it continues to come down for us, for me.  And I want more of it.

This season so often lost in busyness and greed is about the coming of Love, the invasion of God in the flesh, a Father running after His children to bring them Light and full Life.

The whole world was lost in the darkness of sin; the Light of the world is Jesus.  Like sunshine at noon-day His glory came in; the Light of the world is Jesus.  ~Come to the Light, tis shining for thee.  Sweetly the Light has dawned upon me.  Once I was blind, but now I see.  The Light of the world is Jesus.

Listening with one ear to the choir and one ear to the Spirit of God that had decided to pour Himself out upon me in that wooden pew, I sat next to my husband and thought about the storyline in Genesis 1 and 2.  The first thing spoken into existence was Light and it broke through the darkness that was over the face of the deep.  All for love.  Man’s disobedience dimmed the light, a dividing away from the One who made it and us.  But the promise echoed sure throughout time, speaking of a restoring of Light for all,

I will also make you a light to the nations so that my salvation may reach to the end of the earth, (Isaiah 49)

and at a certain amazing moment, that Light of the world broke through again, an unquenchable flame.  I look at the candles flickering.  Sometimes light seems small.

Luke 1 and 2 tell the story, how Light invaded the darkness again.  I listen to the narrator read.  Mary, hovered over, filled with Holy Spirit, stretched by God so that all of us may come to see and be free.  And just as in the beginning that first Light had invaded the darkness, this God-man Light, this Jesus-Light of the world, marked by a star, invaded our darkness.  Small baby, big promise.  Coming as one of us, walking here, making a way for all God wanted for us from the beginning of time.

And when I feel small, I remember that I am learning just how big He is.  Gabriel told Mary, For nothing is impossible with God.  Love and Light spoken into earthly air where I live, and the (supernatural) Word became (physical) flesh and lived among us.  A Messiah for the small, the needy, the messes, with a love that can make impossible things lovely.  All that Light, and I am learning to see because of it.

(c) Robin Lawrimore Lewis, December 2013

Leave a Comment

