Change and Transition: Key to Moving Through It!

The last two months have radically changed my daily life.  If you study the elements of story, you find in every good one, a main character who wants something, and who usually must go to great risk to get it. The best stories include an inciting incident that closes a door to propel the character forward.  My most recent inciting incident?

key in doorAbout two months ago, I was fired from a job.  Knowing it was temporary, when the moment came, I was actually relieved!  I knew I was not “called” there for permanence, but positioned there to share and learn some things I wouldn’t have any other way.  The firing was like a key and when the door was opened, I walked out into the street wondering what God had next.  This will be one of the best moments in my story because it propelled me into my true calling.

pause buttonWhen change and transition come, I have learned to press my internal “Pause” button.  I have found that if I don’t press pause, that I don’t process the change well, and push myself forward…either stumbling or feeling disoriented.

And we know every good story has scenes where the main character is found sitting on a bench or walking on the shore.

A few years ago when my youngest daughter was planning to get married, I planned to move to a smaller apartment, yet I felt the nudging of the Holy Spirit to remain where I was, thinking I needed to adjust to these changes by giving myself the gift of time to emotionally process.  It was a good decision.  I didn’t need dual changes of learning how to live alone AND go through moving at the same time!  {Thank you, Holy Spirit, for the wisdom.}

Even when there is something outside your control – even the devastating days – those chapters where we don’t know what step to take and all we want to do is to lie down where we are.  Even that is not a waste of time for a season, for God is always pouring out love and comfort and peace.  {We feel it if we are open to receive it.}

We are made in this beautiful complex way – spirit, soul, body – mind, emotions, will, and all of that is housed in this skin we live in.  Transition through change requires time for all those God-knitted parts to be smoothed out – sort of like your hair when the convertible comes to a stop.

We live in this temporal world inside temporal moments and can easily lose sight of the eternal, the spiritual.  Earthly transitions are important, but there is more – a higher view woman sitting-on-a-benchthat we don’t always get in the middle of our story.  There is chapter after chapter yet to be written for the first time in our lives, and usually we are in the middle of the next one, when the Father reveals how He moved us across the last bit.

So my advice is this: don’t rush yourself through change.  Take time to process, then get your feet moving, back into your own unique story.  Learn to live a life of balance between working and resting.  And don’t forget to laugh! This is loving and caring for yourself.

Even if yours is a suspense story, the best kind have a few humorous moments sprinkled here and there among the mystery.  Isn’t that the best adventure?

Love & Grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window with the sun streaming in calling me to come outside and play.  (Thank you Donald Miller and Mike McDade for inspiring others to live good stories!)

(c) Sozo Life & Leadership, April 3, 2014

 

4 thoughts on “Change and Transition: Key to Moving Through It!

    • Robin Lawrimore Lewis

      You’re certainly going through a major transition, but I see you moving through it well.

      In paragraph 6, “Even when there is something outside your control – even the devastating days – those chapters where we don’t know what step to take and all we want to do is to lie down where we are. Even that is not a waste of time for a season, for God is always pouring out love and comfort and peace.” – That applies to those life events that sometimes come upon us suddenly – maybe a sudden death or something that can’t be turned around and we struggle to keep moving forward due to the immensity of the impact. And even if we just have to stop for a while, it’s OK because God will minister comfort to us in that. We don’t always have to keep going. It’s OK to just stop sometimes and process before we get up again. – That is what I was trying to communicate. Hopefully that is a better version.
      Thanks, Mom. Love you!

      Like

  1. Jimmy Chinnes

    Sometimes our hearts need hearing aids. Time keeps on ticking, into the future.
    Proud of you, Wonder Woman. You’re a buzz in the neighborhood. I always get a buzz reading your words of wisdom. Keep on keepin’ on.

    Like

Leave a Comment

