Where Is the Grass Greener?

The things that draw our attention away from being thankful for all we have is looking to see what someone else has that we don’t. This leaves us with the old expression, “The grass is always greener on the other side of the street.”
But actually, “The grass is greener where you water it.”
Where I focus my energy and attention, the grass will be greener there. Where my attention flows, energy goes, and what I focus on grows bigger.  For better or for worse!
That’s why God tells us that it’s a really good thing for us to focus on Him. I can choose to focus on my perceived problems or lack or desires and become downright miserable. Or I can put focus on another person and become too responsible for them. Another form of misery.  I can stare at the past or try to see into the future with the same result.
But if I put my focus on the Lord, if I direct my senses there including my words of thanks-giving, then God seems bigger to me and giving thanks works a miracle in my heart, and I am healthier and happier.
And before I realize it, my side of the street is looking pretty good.

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.

(Psalm 23:1-3)

Love & Grace,

Robin

4 thoughts on “Where Is the Grass Greener?

  1. Jimmy Chinnes

    In business as well as life, what you put in is what you get out.
    In “Cool Hand Luke” Stuther Martin said “Luke you got to get your mind Right”. Lot’s of logic there.

    Like

  2. Anthony Baker

    Not long ago I saw a horse about ready to break his neck as he tried to reach under a fence to get to greener grass. My first thought was, “That horse is going to kill himself!” My second thought was, “If the grass is really that greener, just jump the stupid fence!” But when I read this post, I thought about that horse, and us humans, and then came to a really stunning realization – WE can make the grass greener, but animals can’t. Imagine that! Profound, huh? Animals are stuck with what they get; humans have a choice not only to flee (sadly), but to make a difference with a little added tender love and care.

    Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Comment

