How to Keep Your Life from Looking Like Bad Wallpaper

tacky wallpaper repeating thoughts  

I was pondering this morning about things I’d said in a speech earlier this week, about the identity and value of women, and the meaning of our lives.  I encouraged them in doing some self-examination in their belief systems.  {We all need to regularly take a voluntary dose of “Father God, please show me where I am believing something that is not true.”}

I thought of how our patterns of thought don’t just change, that we have to allow God’s revealing searchlight to expose problems, and then we have to do the work, take the action step, of replacing faulty beliefs with what He says is true, with what agrees with His Word.  It’s like learning anything else.  When I learned multiplication tables as a child, I rehearsed them over and over.  What I learned was true: 7 x 7 is still 49.  Some other things I learned growing up weren’t so true: “Always be obedient and good so that God and others will love you,” and “Others always need you to help them feel better.”  I had to unlearn those things and some others and relearn what was true for my life.

This led me to thinking about wallpaper.  My family built a home in the late 1980’s and certain wallpaper patterns were popular.  I learned that the pattern description would tell you how often it repeated on the wall – every 6 inches or 12 inches or whatever.

woman thinkingOur thoughts are like that.  We will always live out what we truly believe and the thoughts we hold in mind become real to us, part of our experiences.  These are the things that are guiding our lives, for our belief system tells us how to think, and our thoughts determine our actions and behavior, and that in turn, gives us the life results we experience — and all “for better or for worse.”  The problem with the things that are not true, is that left unchecked, they just keep repeating…like that wallpaper in the kitchen.

Romans 12:2 says, “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

If you are unhappy with the results you have in different areas of your life, maybe you need to pull down that repeating wallpaper of wrong thoughts, and choose a new and bright paint color and cut a hole for a window.  Let in some sunshine, color, and fresh air and choose to think higher.  Higher about yourself, about God, about others – about your life!  We can either allow the world’s influencers to define us, or we can choose to be defined by God.  And I have found that when true thoughts are on repeat, I love my life and others so much more, and I’m more able to let God and others love me back.  I am more able to live a life of believing that with God all things are possible.

What thoughts have been on repeat in your head?

Truth is very freeing when it becomes part of us, and when it does, we become what God says we already are – who He designed us to be, living out a world-changing life.

“With God all things are possible!”  (Luke 1:37)

Grace & Peace,

Robin

(c) Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC

Leave a Comment

