My Calendar Is Not the Boss of Me! {Handling Demands}

Vision Retreat BeachThe first weekend of the year, I met with my coach for a Vision Retreat to prayerfully seek God about strategy for my personal and business goals. It was wonderful for the “do-er” in me! I could now see how I was going to get things done using the system we laid out. Well, you know about “the best laid plans”? Right. You’d better be flexible!

I immediately got sick. Then got sick again. And out of the last 7 weeks, I’ve had 1 1/2 weeks that I would call “normal”. Not fun for this speaker / writer, but frustrating!

2015-02-14 19.21.42What I found first in this great new system of mine was that, no matter what, I had to own it. It didn’t belong to my coach or my husband or my clients. It belonged to me. That meant I could tweak it, change it, and be faithful to it as best as I could while blowing my nose. God gives vision, but how we work and live it out requires His help.

What I found second was that even though I had to stop at times to care for myself and get well, I never missed a deadline or a speaking engagement. Amazing, right? God is always bigger than the plans I write down and He can help me “get ‘er done” even though difficulty is sprinkled on my path. My calendar is not the boss of me!

Third, I remembered that He has written the story of my life and knows where to intervene. He is not inside time like I am, and therefore able to arrange details and speak to me about how to change my schedule. I believe we can either live a life hoping for miracles or live a life where we have to rely on them. The latter is much more of an adventure and shows me just how big God really is.

How we walk through weeks like these says a lot about us. We must practice choosing our thoughts, refusing discouragement, and remembering that God is God, and we are not. We must practice giving ourselves lots of love and grace. We must be still and listen for He usually comes to speak something wonderful into our spirits.

2015-02-20 10.47.19I read a blog this morning that talked about removing the darkness from our world. We must first remove the darkness from ourselves. When we go through trials, we can let darkness creep in with negative thoughts, feeling sorry for ourselves, and focusing on the problem. We can bring light into our lives by choosing positive thoughts to hold in mind, looking to God for what we need, and focusing on our faith by speaking out what is true! We actually effect our physical health by what we choose to dwell on and say. (When have you read Philippians 4?)

To handle the demands of the day, first start your day with prayer. Set your mind on what matters most – your relationship with the Father. Then you will see clearly how to move through the hours, trusting Him to lead, provide, and bring joy for the journey. As more light spills into your life, you will have light to give away, and before you know it, you’ve changed a little part of the world.

 Loads of Grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window and it’s frosty on the panes.

(c) Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, February 2015

One thought on “My Calendar Is Not the Boss of Me! {Handling Demands}

Leave a Comment

