That Fight For Focus {and what to do with the negative narrative}

3c-set-your-mind-and-keep-it-setSet your mind. That is at the top of a short list I call my early morning ritual that is taped inside the cover of my journal. And actually this must happen when I first open my eyes. Every day holds challenges, and if I want to face them well I must do so with faith, possibility, and an expectation of miracles. What I want to accomplish requires holding onto God’s hand and letting Him lead.

Set your mind. If I don’t do that first – with thoughts of love, gratitude, and faith – my day will be different. This is a “taking captive of my thoughts” that is a necessary part of living a Sozo life. And is it really possible? Was I created to have control over my thoughts? I say yes.

John 14:27 AMP ~ Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

This is Jesus talking – that One who was present at Creation in Genesis 1 and who walked on water in Matthew 22. God’s Word says that “In Him all things are being held together” (Colossians 1:17), so if He says that I have the choice and can gain the maturity of thought and faith in order to stop letting myself be troubled or agitated, then it must be true.

Set your mind. I sometimes fight for right focus in order to have a clear mind that can better hear the voice of God, and to stay on track with my work for the day. And that negative narrative that wants to play like a stuck record? I can choose to listen or not listen, and my day will flow from my choice, for better or for worse.

I think believers are in a season where we are being prepared to handle more, and our mental focus needs to flow from our spirit within. If every battle, every trial, and even every not-so-good day has a gift in it (and I believe it does) then I can learn to walk with God through anything, thanking Him for everything because I know His is with me in it. To think in this way is to think higher, above, and beyond my present circumstances, and to expect God to be near, involved, and strong. He will weave His strength in with mine and I am helped.

I don’t want to compare my trouble to another’s trouble, or spend time in that frame of mind, but I am learning to choose more quickly to bring all my cares, concerns, and even calamities straight to God. When I realize I’m abiding in the negative narrative, I can pick up my problem and run to God with it. Like exercising a muscle, my choice gets stronger and becomes more automatic as my thoughts learn new paths. Letting Him help me frees up my spirit, soul, and body, and my faith grows and my strength expands so I can walk in the Light that the right focus provides.

Some images I found just for you:

everything you thinktoxic thoughts, Gods presence excellence, obstacles, problem, opportunity set-your-mind-on-the-things-above thinking, thoughts, possibility, belief focus on what matters

I bless you with understanding and strength in Jesus for the ability to choose your focal point.

Loads of Grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window where the seasons are changing and it’s nearly Spring!

(c) Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, March 2015

Leave a Comment

