When Fear Erodes Our Power, Love, & Sound Mind {and what to do about it}

When we learn of hard things happening in the lives of those we care about, it can grab the heart and we can easily react in fear and anger. We don’t want those we love to suffer, and the enemy certainly uses our weaknesses, fears, and doubts against us.  Those emotions allowed to run can build up walls of “fear material” that God’s voice cannot penetrate. When we fear, we have moved away from God. Fear erodes faith and peace like battery acid on a Saltine Cracker.

Worry is always fueled by fear and is a block to hearing the Father’s voice. And let’s be honest – when we worry, we are not trusting God. In fact, we can’t even see or hear God when we move into worry. He is not in the equation at all when my thoughts are focused on what I fear. As long as I have my eyes focused on fear, I am unable to receive His comfort or guidance.

fear 2 tim 1 7The negative emotions can even move me to pray, but fueled by fears, we can “pray without ceasing” without listening! “Lord, what can I say? What can I do to help? They are off balance and falling! How can I help, protect, or provide? Father God, what are you doing? Do you see?” When we finally land in a place of feeling  powerless and helpless, we are where we need to be in order to let go of it all and trust God to work.

Fear and worry should remind me how small I am with an immediate turning to the Father, but if my focus is on anything other than Him, then those emotions and the “what if…” questions grow larger than life. When I think I can jump in and rescue or change another life, I can feel pretty powerful. I can think I have the answer someone needs. But I really do not. How can I when fear is the motivator?

2 Timothy 1:7 is one of my favorite verses because it shows both sides of the coin:

For God has not give us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love, and a sound mind.

Let’s face it, when fear is the ruling power in my life, I have none of that “power, love and sound mind” stuff. Quite the contrary! When any of us are focused on our fears, they consume us, swallowing us whole! Let’s clarify an important point: God isn’t mad at me when I am afraid. God just wants me to come to Him because He sees it all clearly.

When we finally turn full round from all that burden and care, and lift our face and gaze to the Father, and in all our powerlessness cry out to Him for help, we can then let go of our fears and concerns. Then every time without fail I can be the receiver of His grace and peace.

His presence provides all we need in the way of power, love, and a sound mind. This is what He provides for us, but when we allow the cares of life to disturb, I am walking away from all the peace He has to give. When I return, it’s all mine again and the fear cannot follow me into His presence. Oh, but to learn to remain there!

The release of concern, not in denial but in dependence on God, provides the pathway and opens our ears again to hear His voice. It’s good to remember that we are small, and can trust the biggest Giver of very life for daily life, so we are more able to trust Him with everything that concerns us. In exchange, we feel peace and joy restored, and the erosion of fear repaired!storms of life

Like a lip reader who gets distracted and then cannot translate what is being said to the deaf, so are we. When our focus is on anything other than the Father, and we see something wrong and move into deep fear, we are in the worst position to help because we have walked away from His presence and cannot hear what to pray, say, or do. He speaks in a still, small voice and the only way to hear it is to be near Him.

We can practice His presence in our daily life, and when a crisis occurs, we’ll be right where we need to be to hear the Father’s direction. Keep in mind, He may not tell you anything at all, or He may send you to make a difference. We must be so secure in our trust of Him that we don’t question the role He gives us, we simply obey.

“True sons and daughters of God are led by the Spirit of God and they are the ones who believe against all odds (in the face of adversity). Hope must take root and faith must rise that God does bring forth exactly what He knows is needed.”  Our goal is to live a Spirit-led life who makes the most impact in the lives of others, and with prayer or action, can bring peace to the storms of life.

Loads of grace and peace,

Robin

From the desk by the window on a sunny spring day, drawing in close ’cause I don’t want to miss a single word He says.

(c) Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, April 2015

Quote by Shirley Weaver Ministries, A Clear Trumpet www.acleartrumpet.org

2 thoughts on “When Fear Erodes Our Power, Love, & Sound Mind {and what to do about it}

    • Robin L. Lewis

      When we are stepping out even with the idea of something new, fear certainly comes to travel with us. Kick it out by continuing to take the action steps the Lord shows you. It’s a daily battle, and the more often I choose to stop looking at it and turn my eyes on the Father, then…the more often I turn in faith. It can’t remain if I am thanking God. Sometimes I have said out loud, “You’re right, enemy, I don’t know how to do this, but my Father does!” You are in good company, Mom, with those who trust God no matter what. I love you.

      Like

Leave a Comment

