Brought in Close

little_girls_whisperingWe all want to be accepted, included, valued, and loved. When I was a child, I loved it when my friend, Laura, would motion with her finger for me to come closer so she could whisper a secret in my ear. Our relationship deepened as she had shared something new with me and I felt significant. It also made me want to share my secrets and my life with her. We were the best of friends!

When I came to know Jesus as my Savior, He brought me in close in much the same way. Paul wrote these words to the new Christians in Ephesus describing our transfer from being outsiders to insiders with God:

But now in Christ Jesus, you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ. (Ephesians 2:13 ESV)

Now because of Christ – dying that death, shedding that blood – you who were once out of it altogether are in on everything.  (Ephesians 2:13 The Message)

Jesus came to restore relationship with the Father, and when I came to know Him, I came to know the Father as well! I have been brought in close, included, accepted, valued, and loved. Nothing is forced on me, but the Father cares for me for I am His child. That means He teaches me, shares wisdom with me, and reveals to me my right and true identity, value, and purpose – all the things He wanted me to know when He created me. This relationship becomes more intimate, like a best, trusted friend, as the Father shares things I would never know otherwise. I have come to trust that He is the safest place for all my secrets, emotions, and thoughts. We share things together, we both listen, and I am the one who is changed. And He has promised this…

Call to Me and I will answer you and show you great and mighty things, fenced in and hidden, which you do not know (do not distinguish and recognize, have knowledge of and understand).  Jeremiah 33:3 (AMP)

A while back, I was asking the Lord how to structure my days concerning some new goals. His reply? “See us meeting together at a table, our heads touching, and when you come in close, I will help you know how to walk through your day, dear one.”

When speaking recently at a church on our relationship with the Father, I shared a poem I wrote entitled “The Meeting Place” about this very thing of stopping to meet with God every day to see what He has to say. You can read it here. He wants this time with all of us, and if He wants it for us, then it’s necessary to live the life we were given.

What about you? Do you know the Father? The Son can introduce you. You can be brought in close, too. And that introduction is just the beginning for we aren’t created and saved just for Heaven one day. We are here to know and share the abundant “sozo” life that Jesus went to the cross to restore! That is the forgiven, included, restored, and healed life of purpose. This life is the most important thing we can ever choose and the most fulfilling way to live on earth. All you have to do is simply ask for it and it’s yours.

Loads of grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window where the sky is blue and I’m feeling brought in close, wondering what adventure the Father has next. 

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, June 10, 2015

2 thoughts on “Brought in Close

    • Robin L. Lewis

      Thank you for stopping to read, Lee-Ann. I’m so glad this one blessed you. Take it like a daily vitamin – drawing in close to the Father. You are loved more than you can imagine. ~Robin

      Like

Leave a Comment

