The 9 Things that Contribute to the 1 Thing that Drives Your Life {and what you can do about it}

Many things over the course of our life have contributed to what we believe to be true. Today we’re looking at a basic list of 9 things that contribute to the 1 thing that determines your thoughts and attitudes, choices and decisions, words and behavior, and life direction.

  1. Parents
  2. Extended Family
  3. Friends, close relationships
  4. Education
  5. Church or Faith
  6. Media (news, magazines, TV, social media)
  7. Culture
  8. Workplace
  9. Life Experiences (either reinforce or change what we’ve been taught)

Belief System chart

These 9 basic things largely determine our Belief System. The problem is that some things we believe to be true are not true, and some things we believe to be false are not really false. For example, if I wish I could learn to play guitar, but I believe that I cannot because it’s too difficult, then I will never learn to play the guitar.

Our mind is like a 3 drawer filing cabinet with the top drawer labelled TRUTH and holding those things we believe to be true, the middle drawer labelled LIES holding those things we believe to be false, and the bottom drawer labelled PENDING with those things we’re still undecided about.

Belief System Filing Cabinet

Lots of people have learned to play the guitar so it must not be that difficult. If I realize that there may be something wrong with what I believe, then I can examine it, and change it. Our minds were created to be renewable! And here’s the thing: the wrong beliefs? Yeah, they hold us back from living the life we were created and intended to live.

What are some emotions or beliefs that are holding you back in life? How are you “giving weight” to these things in your heart, thoughts, attitude, etc.? What are those beliefs giving birth to? Or, what reality are you experiencing that you want to change?

The word desire means “to give birth to” – Many times what we desire is there to help us toward living a fulfilling life and toward our purpose.  What God has created, designed, and spiritually purposed in you will always seek  a fuller physical manifestation out of you.  God’s purpose in anything wants to always be ever-expanding.  When we give room for those dreams and purposes to grow, they will be blessed to develop more fully. If we learn to believe.

OneWord2013_believe150

Two years ago, my word for the year was Believe. I was discovering more of the purpose of my life and I came to a point that I knew I would have to press into believing if I were ever to accomplish certain things that God put in my heart to do.

God doesn’t play games with us. If He purposes us to accomplish something specific, then He equips us with all we need to do it. He empowers the dream that He plants in our hearts.

“Do not be conformed to the nature of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Romans 12:2

Our belief systems are so powerful that If we believe we can, we’re right, and if we believe we can’t, we’re right.

If we want to overcome our past and become something more, we can. If there’s a dream in our heart that we would love to fulfill, it can happen. “All things are possible for one who believes!”  Mark 9:23

Be brave, lean on grace, and examine your beliefs. Ask God to show you which ones are holding you back. Then…

Believe!

Loads of grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window where life can be a challenge, but believing is everything!

(c) Robin Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, July 24, 2015DSC_5007

For more info or to book me for your next event, workshop, conference, or life coaching, just shoot me an email at robinlewiswords@gmail.com. Thanks so much for stopping by my place today. You’re always welcome! Blessings to you!

5 thoughts on “The 9 Things that Contribute to the 1 Thing that Drives Your Life {and what you can do about it}

  1. lisanne3015

    So glad I found your blog! May be reaching out to you as a Keynote Speaker for the program I am over, Nurture Home, a shelter for single moms and their children. That’s my profession. My calling and soul nourishing desire is to write. Love this blog!

    Like

    • Robin L. Lewis

      Hi Lisanne! So nice to meet you! Thanks for stopping by today and I appreciate your kind words. I’d be very interested in talking with you about speaking at Nurture Home. What a wonderful calling. You’re free to email me at robinlewiswords@gmail.com if you like. May the Lord empower and bless all you do! ~Love, Robin

      Like

Leave a Comment

