Are You Derailed by Distractions? (Let’s get back on track!)

still-life-of-open-book-eyeglasses-and-coffee-cup-on-wooden-bench,1010905 - CopyFocus is everything. Focus is worship. And when we stop to notice where we are focused, it can be very enlightening.
I had an experience last night that completely proved my post from yesterday and left me choosing healthier mental activity. After discussing a situation, I became overly concerned that someone was bothered or confused by something I said. So I asked. They were not bothered, they said. In my head, I became worried because I was so sure of the emotion I was feeling. After a few minutes I realized what was happening in my head and I told myself two things: (1) Robin, you need to believe that they are not bothered, that they are being truthful. And (2) Robin, if you believe that, then stop creating a problem in your head where there is none.

The crux of the matter was that I was bothered by the situation discussed, and so I assumed they were bothered as well. I can’t do anything about thoughts in someone else’s head, but I can do something about the thoughts in my own.

rose colored glassesJesus said to remove the log from your own eye before trying to help someone else remove the speck from theirs. If we don’t practice some healthy mental check ups and some taking captive of our troubling thoughts, then it’s like we are walking around with broken glasses. Nothing looks right and we aren’t going to be able to see clearly.

Differing forms of codependency abound – the making sure someone else is OK, so that you can be OK is not Christian behavior. I grew up with this relationship sickness that focuses on others and fertilizes fears, and you’d think I’d be immune by now, but I still have to grab it and throw it as far as I can when I realize it’s trying to creep back into my thoughts.

To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul. (Psalm 25:1 NASB)

In You, O Lord, I put my trust. (Psalm 25:1 NIV)

{This is the same verse.}

Focus is worship. The lifting up of my soul, the focusing of my heart, is equated to where I put my trust! I don’t want to trust in problems or people. I want my trust placed in God alone. And the mind is where this all important choice is made.

What disturbing forms of negative thoughts try to run your day or rule your domain? Much of the time, they are simply distractions to halt your forward progress. And remember, we have an enemy. The devil is a pro at sliding thoughts right into our noggin and it feels like it originated with us, but it didn’t. It began with his evil intent.

thoughts, focus, leaf

What is distracting you today? Is it founded in truth? Is it a real problem or imaginary? Is it a problem you can do something about? In other words, is it yours or someone else’s? If it’s your real problem, then take it before the Lord. He is the best sifter of thoughts and solver of problems! I find that when I hand what bothers me over to Him and then walk away, He takes care of it for me.

Let’s choose not to lift our soul up to another, but to only lift our soul, our focus, and our worship up to God alone. When our focus is on Him, everything else dims in comparison and peace returns. His perfect love frees us from our fears!

My eyes are ever on the Lord,
    for only he will release my feet from the snare. (Psalm 25:15)

Here’s your take-away: Your thoughts determine your attitude, actions, and behavior, for better or for worse, and you can change them. Need help with your thought life? Contact me today for information on spiritual life coaching and how to increase personal growth. You are worth it.

There’s loads of grace for the journey,

Robin

From the desk by the window where I’m feeling stronger.

Robin bible

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, August 25, 2015

2 thoughts on “Are You Derailed by Distractions? (Let’s get back on track!)

Leave a Comment

