Affirmations: truth you wrestle for and with daily

CB006514Teaching on the use of affirmations has been a large part of my speaking, workshops, and spiritual life coaching because it’s been a lovely solution in my life for incorporating more truth into my mind and heart, and I believe it will be in yours. I have seen others grow past obstacles and into a more full life of joy and accomplishment through the rehearsal of truth.

In Deuteronomy 6, God told Moses to camp out on truth and take it in daily, making it part of every part of life:

And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders. Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. (NLT)

Also in Deuteronomy 4:9 is a warning to us to watch over ourselves and to teach those who come after us what is true:

Only pay attention and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things which your eyes have seen and they do not depart from your heart all the days of your life. Make them known to your children and your grandchildren [impressing these things on their mind and penetrating their heart with these truths]— (Amplified)

When we first choose to follow Christ, that is just the beginning of our relationship with God. It’s important that we seek growth through the study of the Bible and let the truth there renew our minds and thoughts and bring healing.

 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. (Romans 12:2, NLT)

While you may prefer scriptures, you can pull the principles from the Bible like I have below. Here’s a list of affirmations you can print out to use for yourself if you want. I’ve handed out many of these in workshops and when used daily, they foster great growth. You can even add to it and make your list unique to you.

Affirmations

  • God did a great job in creating me.  I am a person of great value. Only I have my unique identity and purpose.
  • I can practice living a better life.  I can make choices that are good for me. I can learn to love myself.
  • I am uniquely created with gifts, talents, and heritage.  Only I have my unique purpose.
  • I can choose to renew my mind and change my belief system where there are wrong beliefs that hold me back from God’s best.
  • My true self is beautiful and designed for a good plan, purpose, and destiny that is fulfilling.
  • I do not fear mistakes.  I can learn from them and go forward.
  • Not everything I have learned in my life so far is true. I will not be afraid to defy convention or tradition and follow my heart, seeking God to establish my steps.
  • My identity and value and self-esteem are increasing!
  • I choose my closest friends wisely so I am influenced by others who are growing and changing as followers of Jesus.
  • I am learning to be careful with my words, speaking out what I believe that is good for me.  My words are powerful and creative.
  • My sense of what is possible through God is growing!  I am learning to enjoy my life and relationships with less fear.
  • I will always keep learning and growing to live a good life for myself and for others, and to fulfill the purpose of my life.
  • I am a leader – a person of influence who brings encouragement to others.
  • I am becoming a great person of worthy influence and people will seek out my advice.  I will be able to influence others in the right direction, because of my daily choice to practice truth in my heart.
  • I am thankful for my life and for God’s gift of love and healing, and His process of growth designed specifically for me.  I am thankful.
  • Father, I submit to You in my spirit, soul, and body. Please help me learn Your voice and  follow You today! In Jesus name, Amen!

Remember, there’s loads of grace for the journey!

Robin

From the desk by the window where the fog is beginning to lift and vision is becoming more clear!

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, October 22, 2015

Robin 6For more info on this or any other services I offer, please contact me at robinlewiswords@gmail.com. You have amazing identity, incredible value, and unique purpose just spilling over!

One thought on “Affirmations: truth you wrestle for and with daily

  1. tracyleana

    So true, our spirit needs that daily affirmation. I am my own worst enemy when it comes to this area but I am slowly learning to a child, and a child knows grace!!!! I can stop proving I am a sinner!!!! Am I enough is shared on tracyleana.wordpress.com Let me know your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Comment

