When Fear Comes in Like a Flood {and what you need in order to breathe}

I’ve wondered what it is like to drown.  To run out of air, not knowing if you will make it to the surface where air is abundant, plentiful.  To feel pressure increasing around you, above you.  To feel trapped and small.  We watch the effects of tsunamis that are sudden, with little if any warning, and many are swept away.  We see the river rise, the hurricane approach, and we wonder why so many remain in it’s path.  Whether sudden or progressive, the effect of fear is the same. Many seem to miss the warning signs.

Fear is like that.  Fear is a mental, emotional, and spiritual strangle-hold.  It won’t stop and its intention is to consume.  It wants to {cover} you with it’s detestable odor that fills the nostrils and surrounds.  It weighs down the soul, twisting the mind into believing the worst, into feeling trapped and small, pressure building.

Sometimes it’s tsunami-like and sudden and you are a part in a play and don’t know what is written on the next page until it’s turned by shaking, cold fingers.  Or it’s a rising river that wants to {cover} all you hold dear and plunge you into its depths.

God’s Word says that peace should govern us.  A government of peace.  The Kingdom of Heaven is such a government, one that rules with stillness of heart, a heart that is continually bent toward an undefeated King.  A government that rules with strength and deliverance.  With love.  So what’s our problem?

I bow down to what I focus on.  My eyes, my gaze determine my destination, my outcome.

When I bow down, I worship, and my desire is to worship the One whose government knows no end, the One who came into my mess and found me, healing me.  And yet, the waves are loud and strong.  If the waves are where I fix my eyes, I am bowing to the fear, stepping into the path of the rising tide.  How do I defeat it?  How do I ride those waves instead of them crashing down on me like a flood?  I must remember to remember:

“The Lord on high is mightier than the noise of many waters, yea, than the mighty waves of the sea.”  Psalm 93:4

“Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Then Joshua commanded the people to get ready to cross the Jordan.  Joshua 1:9-10

He got up, rebuked the wind and spoke to the waves, “Quiet!  Be still!”  Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.  he said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid?  Do you still have no faith?”  They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this?  Even the wind and the waves obey him!”  Mark 4:39-41

Jesus spoke truth and peace to the storm.  He is my rescue, my life-preserver, the One who first breathed air into human lungs face down upon the first man in a garden.  So when the noise of life, the shouts of fear assail me, I will look to the One.  He can protect me, He can stand on all sides at once, and {cover} me from the storms.

ship sails

But only if I look to Him – where my worship belongs, where I am before Him, my gaze fixed.  I will not drown, even if covered by many waters….for He made those waters and is the Lord of the wind and the high seas of my life.

The psalmist, Joshua, and the Disciples were all reassured when they refocused on the Lord – His presence, power and love.  He is trustworthy and sure and all my self-protection can’t begin to get the job done like the Light and Power of His Love – sure and strong, that holds me firmly no matter what kind of wind rages, seeing me safely to the other side.  His love is perfect….and “perfect love casts out all fear” that simply cannot stand near me when I trust in God’s perfect love.  Fear is a prison.  Love is the exit.

ship in port

With Him, I don’t mind the wind in my face.  I remember my strength and peace come from God and I’m more willing to raise my sail and see where my Captain steers my little ship. Life becomes an adventure.

Loads of Grace,

Robin

From the desk by the window where the skies are full of heavy clouds and the wind is picking up. Wonder where it will take me this time? Let’s go!

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, August 4, 2015

Robin is available to speak at your next event: 843-319-5390.

DSC_5012

4 thoughts on “When Fear Comes in Like a Flood {and what you need in order to breathe}

  1. Jimmy

    For years I was drowning, not even completely aware the water was rising. God brought me through the lowest time in my life. I’m a living testimony of the power of our heavenly father.
    That’s the thing about addiction, it’s there like an uninvited guest. The power is there for the asking.
    I’ve been given a second chance.
    “No more sickness, no more sorrow, I’ve laid my burden down.”

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Comment

