An Open Window

I said, “It’s OK, I can do this, I think,

As circular waters ran out of the sink.

But week after week there’s frustrated pain

It feels like my hope’s going into the drain

I scramble to catch them before they are gone

Too many days where I silence a moan.

I scramble to keep my hope up and dry

While another tear stings the lid of my eye

Get away, get away, go get in the car!

Drive away fast, drive away far!

To some place that’s sunny where history’s hands

Aren’t always reaching to strangle my plans.

To a place where the air is sweet as a rose,

A place where the influence of Heaven grows

But while I am here will You help me to be

An open window so others can see?

There are many times when the Lord actually leads us to places we don’t like, don’t enjoy, and have trouble finding anything we want in it. These are perfect times to yield your heart, to allow the Lord to mold you into the beautiful being He created from and for this place you are in.

window openYou may have stepped into a care-taker role, or had to take a job you hate to pay the bills, or was forced to move where you don’t want to live. If that’s you, take heart and take hope! “Godliness with contentment is great gain.” (1 Timothy 6:6) If you yield your whole heart to the Lord, He will help you where you are, and as you lean into Him, He can help you not only become content, but become that “open window” that helps others to see Him in you. And that is amazing and life giving all round!

Much love,

Robin

From the desk by the window where the full moon is rising over the lawn and the trees are casting shadows long.

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, Nov 26, 2015

9 thoughts on “An Open Window

  1. Bonnie

    I am always amazed how God speaks to me. Today through your words. I am a caregiver. At times I feel like getting in my car and keep on driving. I Tim 6:6 and your words remind me I’m right where God wants me… Right person, right job, right time …this very moment in God’s will! My “window is open” dear God fill me with godliness and joy for your glory. Thanks Robin.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robin L. Lewis

      At 55, I’ve decided that life is a daily, continual yielding to the Father. I told my younger daughter recently that the difficulty of a circumstance is an indication of the value of how God can use that circumstance in our lives. If my strength is not strained, will it grow? The heart-rending or the daily grind that leaves you feeling “coarsely ground” are of great heavenly value! Much love to you, Bonnie! ~Robin

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bonnie Osterhout

        I appreciate your offer. I felt safe venting to someone who is a believer in Christ but does not know me. Life is a journey that Jesus said would not be easy but praise God he added he would always be with us. I grieve for my Mom even though she is still alive. Our common enjoyment was nature … Taking rides together in the woods and parks seeing flowers, trees, deer and wild turkeys. Now confined to bed she can’t tolerate sitting up. Yet her mind is still fairly share. I will cherish the good memories. Keeping my mind stayed on Jesus I will be victorious! Thanks again. I plan on continuing to read you blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonnie

    Thank you Robin.
    As a caregiver to my bedridden Mom …I find role reversal very difficult. She was and is a strong willed women. She always made all the decisions. If you didn’t do it her way then there was unpleasantness. Her critical non appreciative and self centered Words hurt…Hospice says “it’s her illness or her age 89yrs” but this is not new behavior. When we lived in separt homes I could walk out. Now I can’t leave . I chose to care for her. I love her. She is a Christian and was a pray warrior. Yet I feel like I never could please her or measure up to her expectations.
    I retired as a RN 2 years ago. At times I say things to her I know doesn’t please God. I pray a lot but mess up almost daily with a bad attitude … feeling trapped. Daily I say “Satan I will not let you steal my joy …my Hope is in the Lord”
    In April this year I married my college sweetheart. He is truly a helpmate and encourager. But he does not like my Mom and me fussing. He stays with Mom on Wednesdays so I can go to Community Bible Study and other times to give me a break.
    Your words Robin are encouraging. your writing makes me feel you have had similar experiences or have counseled others which have. My desire is to do the best I can as a caregiver and as a daughter. I know that God has a plan and I am seeking to please Him. Thank you for letting me vent. I too will post your words as a reminder.My God is with me….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

