When We Pursue a Thing Over Pursuing God We Miss the Thing

window openIn the last couple of years, I have pressured myself to expand my business, make a profit, and light the fuse that launches what God has called me to do. After 9 years of waiting filled with writing, coaching, and ministry classes, I was finally doing full-time what He called me to do in 2005. I’ve been overjoyed that the time had finally arrived! Yay! I felt like I’d been let out of a starting gate!

Even though I’ve begun what I’d waited for, learning to figure out when I’m supposed to wait and when I’m to act is not an easy thing for this “do-er” girl. I’d rather act, push forward, keep going, do something – anything – even if it turns out to be wrong. I can still get a lesson from it for the future, right? But…

I’ve worn myself out with all this activity at times, doing my best to meet my goals and be faithful to what God has called me to do. And I love it, but…all that activity if it’s not “God activity” will make one weary. The truth is this…

If I am pursuing that thing more than I am pursuing that God, it will rob me of energy, joy, peace, and ultimately faith.

writer sketchWhen we pursue even the good thing to the point of placing too much focus there, then we begin to judge ourselves as to whether we’ve done all we should. If we are consistently finding fault or giving ourselves praise based on our performance, then we have created our own little religion where we are the god who judges ourselves based on our works – the opposite of how God behaves toward us. Bam!

Then what about that good thing God has so graciously called and equipped us to do? We will miss that, too, every. single. time. So if this is where you have been, let’s step down off the little earthly throne we have erected, and turn our eyes upon Jesus.

If we are so focused on our own efforts that we are out front, then He is not able to lead us. Many of us believe we are letting Jesus lead, when we are not. His leading of us is not hurried, rushed, or intended to tire us out. His leading is gentle, loving, full of rest, peace, and joy! His leading will challenge us and grow our faith, further equipping us for the life He has given us to live.

“Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face, then the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.” (old hymn with excellent theology)

That’s the place where we are healed, forgiven again, and set right. That’s the place where intimacy with Him grows. That’s the place we actually live our lives from, and the quality of that one relationship with determine the quality of what we do.

He promises to provide all we need, “lead us beside still waters, and restore our soul”. All our hurried, harried ways (even if those only exist between our ears) never travel by places like that! We can miss His beautiful rest completely if we don’t apply the brakes and give ourselves the same permission He has already given us – that if we seek Him first, He will be found by us. If we focus on Him and learn His ways, we will enjoy the fulfillment of first knowing we are His child. Learning to abide there brings rest and His blessings there will chase us down and we will begin to see it all as the GRACE it actually is.

Stop and think about what characterizes your life. If you need more peace, rest, and joy, then make the choices that will make room for those things. For a change in life results, we have to create a change in our believing, thinking, and speaking. You have the ability to do that. (I can help if you like.)

So where am I in this journey? Still learning. Taking life one “calendar week” at a time (grin), and remembering to first seek Him. He is much more interested in me knowing Him than knowing what the next appointment or speaking engagement will be like. I try, sometimes fail, and get up and try again with what I’ve learned. Kind of like “shampoo, rinse, repeat”, life is a continual day in, day out education.

Father, forgive us for our hurried ways, for letting the world teach us that all that activity is necessary. Father, help us learn to rest in You, letting You lead us. You say to us that we are perfectly acceptable in Your eyes just because we are your children. We don’t have to work or get it all right for You to be pleased. Thank you for Grace, Father. Thank you for Grace. Help us receive it. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

There’s so much love & grace.

Robin – one still learning to follow

From the desk by the window where a gentle rain falls creating pools of still waters and reminding me it’s OK to go enjoy that cup of tea and not rush through the day.DSC_4975

{For info on Spiritual Life Coaching or booking Robin to speak to your group, you can email her at robinlewiswords@gmail.com. She promises to write back with encouragement in living your best life.}

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, January 24, 2016

 

12 thoughts on “When We Pursue a Thing Over Pursuing God We Miss the Thing

  1. Jimmy Chinnes

    You are for sure out of the starting gate, and working hard. I am proud that you can use for all good , what God has given you. You are strong.
    Thank you for being a friend.
    Love to bothya’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janice D. Green

    Bingo! I’ve been learning the same lesson on a different playing field. It seems the more we want something the farther away that something gets when all of our prayers and faith are focused on what we want God to do for us instead of drawing closer to God and gaining a deeper faith and closer friend-to-Friend relationship with Him.

    Like

  3. jane62

    This is one of your very very best pieces in my most humble opinion. I love the way you’ve expressed exactly what happens and yes, it’s happened to me too. Thank you for listening to Him and being a joy and a gift to us all. Jane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

