Best-Ever-Life {conquer your wall}

conquer, wall, fear, goals

I wrestled for sleep most of the night and realized I was having a running conversation in my head that went something like this:
God: Where do you want these goals of yours to go?
Me: I don’t know.
God: Where do you want these to actually go? You’ve written them out for a year and they are do-able. What else do you want? Hint: they need to be bigger than you.
Me: I don’t know! Wait.
Me: I want more, but I need help to see bigger. Help me!
God: Get up. Write it down. I’ll help.
Me: It’s 4:15, but this is important; OK. Some ideas are starting to rise.

book, journal, computer

I’ve struggled with letting my vision emerge. Sometimes we need to train our brain to learn to think bigger – especially if daily life and some not-so-good life experiences have squashed dreams before. We need to tell our dreams that they have our permission to come forth. When they arrive, large or small, we need to celebrate them and thank God for what He planted within us. Do you know that “ask, think, or imagine” verse?

Now to Him who is able to [carry out His purpose and] do super-abundantly more than all that we dare ask or think [infinitely beyond our greatest prayers, hopes, or dreams], according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations forever and ever. Amen. (Ephesians 3:20-21 Amplified Bible)

Discovering our vision, goals, or purpose is part of Lordship – of letting Jesus be LORD over every area of our lives. We tend to think of the parts we can see (like bible reading, what movies we watch, if we can share Jesus with someone, or if we cuss). But it’s so much more than behavior – it’s our heart, mind, will, emotions, conscience. It’s our dreams and visions He placed within us when He created us as a living person. It’s within. It’s allowing God to examine our beliefs with us and show us where we’re simply not believing for enough, and then beginning to believe that he really can do this according to His power at work inside us!

I hear you. I hear the “But you don’t know me. I’m not special.” {Did you have someone tell you that you would never be anything significant? Did you grow up in a place where the general attitude is to just be thankful that you have a job, any job? Maybe you were raised in a church that has the wrong idea of what the Christian life should to look like…with an “always take it on the chin and be thankful” theology? Or where they focused more on outward behavior, never teaching you about discipleship or the enemy of God and that he hates you, too. Experiences like this lead to wrong beliefs that guide our very lives.}

LORDSHIP of Jesus over our dreams and visions allows Him to lead us into adventure, accomplishment, service, and growth – all with submission to Him into things that are far more than we could ever do alone. Easy? No way. But worth it? Oh yeah! So while I wait, listen, and jot down ideas, I’m following His lead, because I know that will be the best-ever-life where I will refuse to let fear stop me or make me turn a different way. I don’t have it all figured out, but I’m moving forward anyway.

We conquer our wall of vision or anything else by refusing to let fear stop us, by giving permission to let the God-life in us to emerge, and to realize that WE are playing a significant role in the Kingdom of Heaven story. That WE have agency and He will never force us, but wants to co-create and write our story with us.

What’s your wall? I promise you that you and God together can conquer it. He is just big enough, loving enough, and has promised to never leave you. Look at your wall again. Any idea what’s on the other side?

(Psssst! You are part of my vision. Let me know if you want to strategize over vision together!)

Love & so much grace!

Robin

From the desk by the window where a shining, milky-white crescent moon is waiting to hide in the sunshine.2016-01-05 16.50.00

PS: I love the Amplified Bible as I want the fuller meaning of the words. I want it to amplify my life. If you’re unfamiliar with using different translations for study, try Bible Gateway. It’s my favorite!

Spiritual Life Coaching / Speaking – email me today at robinlewiswords@gmail.com

(c) Robin L. Lewis, Sozo Life & Leadership, LLC, Feb. 3, 2016

Leave a Comment

