Sometimes You’re Wrong

oops, wrong, mistake, failIs that hard for you to hear? We never get it all right, do we? Of course not. But the brave keep trying. Not for perfection, but to learn and grow. And why is being wrong, making mistakes, or failing this awful experience we try to prevent?

There’s such freedom in accepting that we don’t have to have all the answers all the time! There’s freedom in knowing that I will be wrong and it’s not a failure to admit it. There’s creative freedom in knowing that I can take a chance, take a risk, be honest, and if I do fail, it can become an awesome learning experience for me!

wrong, fear, creative

“I don’t know.” Can you say that with me? “I just don’t know. But I’m sure I’ll figure it out.”

“I was wrong.” Can you say that one, too? “I am sorry, I was wrong for ____________.”

How about… “I really blew it. But here’s what I learned!”

The best of lessons come through the hard days. Those days when we have no answer, not even a clue, and not much strength left. Our solution is in remembering that God is who He says He is and it’s “perfectly alright for me to just be me, in Him.”

He has all the answers and He never expects us to get it perfectly every time – in my thoughts, words, or actions. He created us to be human (imperfectly perfect) and our salvation, strength, and success are in doing what we resist the most: completely depending on Him in our successes and in our failures, where we are strong and where we are weak.

I love Psalm 46:10 and if you will allow me to paraphrase this verse, I understand it this way:

Be still and know that I am God.

Be still (in your thoughts, words, and actions, in your soul that wants to know why) and know (learn and remember this) that I Am God (and not only are you not, you never have to be for I am everything you need).

failure, wrong, growth

 

The most successful people in the world understand the truth about being wrong and are OK with it. They have learned to not judge themselves harshly, but instead to give themselves grace and encouragement to learn and keep going forward.

Decide today that from now on, with God helping you, that it will be alright to admit defeat, mistakes, and even failure. Believe that it’s alright to cry out honestly to Him for help. For failures are not permanent, but simply the way to the solution. It’s OK to be wrong. It’s great to learn from it.

Grace for growing up,

Robin

From the desk by the window where the smell of buttered toast is still in the air and the coffee is still hot.

I love what I do! Every woman at multiple points in life’s journey needs someone to come alongside for a season to help her 2016-01-05 16.50.00forward. I’ve had these coaches and mentors in my own life and it’s made all the difference in coming to live an effective and fulfilling life. And oh boy, did I have issues to overcome! Visit my Start Here page and my Coaching page for more info and if you’d like to try it out, just ask for your FREE introductory coaching session. I’d love to hear your story. You are welcome to email or call me: robinlewiswords@gmail.com and (843) 319-5390.

 

6 thoughts on “Sometimes You’re Wrong

  1. Jimmy Chinnes

    I have failed, I have been wrong. I think you’ve been reading my mail. I’m not OK with the wrong I have done, but I have learned and I think I have helped others learn from my mistakes in life. I have seen the hard days when there was no strength left. I can tell you no one can come back alone. I was down so long it looked like up to me. I have learned we don’t have to be alone. Sometimes the hardest thing is to just ask for help.
    “Sometimes You’re Wrong” was so right with me.
    Thank You my friend, I needed that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robin L. Lewis

      To help others learn from our mistakes is the way to multiply the blessing so that others gain wisdom. It requires that we allow our lives to be transparent. You’re a blessing to many, Jimmy.

      Like

Leave a Comment

