They Come to Your Door for a Reason

They want to come in.

I love opening our home and having friends or family over to eat. I love planning meals, making sure everything is ready, and serving everyone so they feel welcomed and special. I am blessed by it! But – I like a plan, whether it’s my plan or someone else’s doesn’t really matter. I’m just a fan of the plan. So when I’m surprised by something – like plans falling through or someone arriving unannounced – I have to steady myself and regain composure. It simply throws me off track for a minute.

Especially when someone arrives unannounced – when I’m about to hop in the shower or working on a project or in the middle of a coaching call with a client. It’s an interruption that is trying to insert itself into my day and I don’t always respond well inside, but manage to regroup and smile. I may say, “I’m sorry, but I’m in the middle of ________. Could I call you later?” Or I may say, “Sure, come on in and I’ll be right with you.” And of course, there are times to not answer the door.

door open green

I love this verse in the Bible about doors. Jesus is speaking.

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. (Rev. 3:20 ESV)

Behold, I stand at the door [of the church] and continually knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him (restore him), and he with Me. (Rev. 3:20 Amplified Bible)

Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you. (Rev. 3:20 The Message Bible)

In this passage, Jesus is giving a message to a particular Church, the one in Laodicea. He’s not calling out to unbelievers, but believing church members! That tells me that there’s more to knowing Him than simply what we call “being saved”. In fact, we can go as deep in knowing Him as we want! The deeper we go, the more life-changing it is for us!

Hopefully, this is a door in my life that I will always answer – the door of knowing God more intimately, the door of more restoration, the door of abundant (sozo) life.

But it’s my door. I hope I hear every time He calls, but I get to choose whether to answer it or not. Unlike unwanted visitors, He will never force Himself in. But when He calls, and I listen and invite Him in, I am the one who is blessed. Even by an interruption.

Jesus comes to your door for a reason. He wants to come in, He wants you to know Him, He wants to restore every last place in you that hurts or is weak. And the house doesn’t have to be clean and I don’t have to be good enough. For it’s my heart that matters.

On my Prayers page, you will find The Lordship Prayer. Every area of our lives needs to come under His Lordship for that is when we begin to experience the blessings He came to give us. May you find more freedom as you “let Him in”.

Lots of love & grace for the journey,

Robin

From the desk by the window on a sunny, spring day with a breeze.

2016-03-07 11.31.15So many in the Church today are missing discipleship – the learning, growing relationship with the Father that makes our life better!

Spiritual Life Coaching with Robin provides you with faith-based life coaching for women where boldness, confidence, and destiny are attainable. Where you can overcome fear, limiting beliefs, and better your relationships. You’ll attain clarity for your own identity and a new boldness you’ve always wanted.

Don’t wait! All you have to do is contact me today for your free introductory coaching session! Let’s find the real you and set her free!

Email, phone, or use the form below: robinlewiswords@gmail.com — (843) 319-5390

Love & Grace,
Robin

4 thoughts on “They Come to Your Door for a Reason

  1. twbee

    I’m so relieved you didn’t go “Martha Stewart” and describe how we can always be prepared…clean, clutter free house with fresh peonies.
    Great segué!

    Like

Leave a Comment

